Trials in Tainted Space: The Soundtrack

Miakoda

Nov 4, 2017
Somewhere Somehow
forum.fenoxo.com
So, in case you didn't already know by glancing at my profile when you jumped into this conversation, I am relatively new to Trials in Tainted Space. For a good while, I have been avoiding text-based RPG's just because of their simplicity; when I think of an RPG I think of rich worlds with characters that you can identify with, not an excess of reading. However, this games opened my eyes to the genre. Trials is an immensely fun and immersive world, largely due to the fact that there is very little visual guidance; the world is yours to view as you want within the borders given by the text.
However, as I've been playing Trials in Tainted Space, one thing has been bothering me constantly. Namely, the game has no sound. And while I can easily just put up a tune from my music library, it doesn't give the same feeling as an OST does considering I can listen to my iTunes playlist wherever, whenever.

So, TL;DR, I like the game and I'm wondering if there are plans for an OST for the game, and if so, who will be composing the music. Any light shed on this situation would be most appreciated.

SoAndSo

Scientist
Creator
Mar 26, 2017
I'm not 100% sure on this situation but to my understanding....

It's not really feasible to implement in TiTS without it being a huge drain on load times and file size. In vidja games, audio often gets the shaft because it's a huge drain on disc sizes and resources to implement and even text games have their problems.

Now say if there was enough demand for a MIDI-style or 8-bit sound track with tiny filesizes and logically feasible implementation, I'd be happy to oblige cuz I do music on a semi-pro level myself but iunno, I've no idea if it'd be high on the list of things for Fen to manage.

Emerald

Jun 8, 2016
A soundtrack would ruin one's focus on actually reading the game depending on what it is.