Appreciation Thread: CoC is love. CoC is life.

bumblebeetle

Oct 23, 2016
I'm so impressed with CoC that I made an account here just to post this.

So my first impression of CoC was that it was just gonna be another typical shameful fap (impressive in itself, consider how hard it is to get a shameful fap nowadays). But as I started playing, that opinion changed ENTIRELY.
I can't believe i'm actually saying this, but yesterday I just beat the game (cleared Lethice's Lair) and I must say the game is WAY more well written and has so much more content than I have ever expected. The whole concept and the whole game is so completely ridiculous and yet makes sense in the most twisted as possible way - I can't even imagine the amount of work that must have gone into creating this nonsensical and deranged universe. A lot of the characters are caricatures of what seem to be really just normal perspectives. I at times found myself amused with the insanity of characters like Shouldra, Marble and the Fap Arena contrasted to the almost-realistic insecurities of characters like Arian, Katherine, Urta, Sheila etc.

I find myself wondering if I "know" a Shouldra in real life, sex crazed maniac finding new novel ways to get laid or have sexual experiences. Yet at the same time I end up laughing at how ridiculous Shouldra is.
I find myself wondering if I ever acted like Arian, ever so eager to please in my younger days of dating. 

If it wasn't ridiculously sexualized, i'm pretty sure it would be a masterpiece. Let me correct that, it IS a masterpiece. (Albeit an unseen one. Much like my genitals for most of my teenage years) For all the half-baked storylines/character designs like Ember, there are also ridiculously well fleshed out stories which I would have never expected to find in a budgetless text based game. Freed of the shackles of being politically correct, it almost feels like the writers were able to flesh out characters which were actually real.