Help/advice with how to go about starting a project.

Skraz

Oct 9, 2016
So I've been a lurker here and on other similar sites for a while now. I've played through CoC and TiTS (well I haven't quite kept up with TiTS but only because Fenoxo's updating the darn thing faster than I've been able play through it lately) and plenty of other games that happened to catch my eye. I have an idea for a game of my own but I don't quite know how to go about making it happen. I'm an editor by trade and while I'm not quite as confident in my writing as my editing I'm fairly certain I could do well enough in that area to live up to my own expectations. Unfortunately that's where my artistic talent ends. I couldn't draw anything beyond a stick figure to save my life and while I've fiddled around with RPG maker a bit I'm no programmer and wouldn't be able to do anything with it beyond the absolute basics. I certainly don't have the funds to be commissioning art or hiring a programmer, either. So I guess I'm just asking for any ideas or tips of how to get something from an idea to an actual game (or at least a demo) for someone in my situation and I couldn't think of a better place to ask.

IvoryOwl

Sep 1, 2015
You can't make omelette without eggs and, based on what you've just wrote, it seems you lack more than half of the skills required (among other necessities) to make a working game. If I had a penny for everything I've wanted in my life I'd be a rich woman indeed... unfortunately merely "wanting" to do something ins't going to cut it. You have to hone your skills, both the ones you're comfortable with and the ones you lack, and the best way I think of on how to do that is to either join other people's projects for some "tutoring", or, if you don't want to risk disappointing anyone, doing your own research and starting some " **sketches "  yourself that aren't meant for public use. Semi-public is ok if you want opinions and suggestions about what needs to be improved.