Boring or unremarkable Protagonist

hell lover

Sep 28, 2016
I have been playing games for many years now and i always thought it was always a bit of an annoyance but i always thought the protagonists in western games tended to be boring and/or just plain. I have also noticed this trend in most western erotic games as well.

For instance. The protagonist in Roundscape possibly can have a interesting personality but i always found that he/she looks boring compared to the other main characters in the game.

Another Example is Legend of Queen Opala, where even though you play the main character you are the most dull character in the entire story. Honestly playing either Osira or Opala would have been much more exciting and enjoyable.

I found this extremely infuriating in the latest couple of Bioware games where the main characters is the most dull and boring of the entire game and the game depends on the secondary and minor characters personality to drive the game.

A recent example i just hate was in the new VN Demonheart which is a remake from a module for Neverwinter Nights. In the Module the Female Protagonist is always stated to be beautiful (and big breasted if you set her body to be like that.) but in the remake she is horribly plain with her only noticeable feature is that she has red hair.

I guess this might be the reason why i have always preferred Eastern games.

What do you people think? I'm all right if people don´t agree with me, i just found it weird.

RanmaChan

Mar 17, 2017
The Frozen North, Canada