Adventures In Modding

Jun 8, 2017
It's common knowledge that a sizable chunk of TiTS content is community-generated. Also, the source code is on a GitHub page that Gedan linked to in the first post of a stickied thread. If, perchance, I am hideously wrong and modding TiTS is frowned upon by Fen & Co, I will apologize and find something else to occupy my time with, but I don't anticipate that being the case; an unlocked door is invitation enough, and this is more of a curtain of beads.

Anyway, that little explanation out of the way(I'm wary of someone having a bug up their butt about modding, for reasons I can't put my finger on), I'm Horizon, I'm a freshman Computer Science major and a hobbyist writer, and I've spent the last two years or so giving Fen & Co my money. I've been wanting to find a project to hold my interest for a while, and then I realized that teaching myself how to mod TiTS would probably fit that particular bill. I'm going to record what I've done in this thread and how I went about doing it, in case anyone else decides to give TiTS modding a try. All that being said, make sure you read the License file in the source code, and don't do anything stupid.

Now, starting off. I'll admit, I'm not a particularly good or even interested programmer; I've got some skill at it, and it's where the money's clearly at, but the closest I have to a programming text editor is Notepad ++ and the Python IDLE. That, obviously, won't cut it for this. So! What I did instead was find a text editor that'd work.

What I found is a nifty little thing called Atom; at the time of writing, I've been using it less than an hour, but it seems competently put-together, and it's worked fairly well so far.