Text game advice needed

BCRoxx

Nov 11, 2015
Hi guys and gals!

I've decided to start work on a little game of my own -- a text-based lifesim where the PC is transformed into a succubus, and has to do what succubi do to survive and advance in power in the world. I'm taking influence from other erotic lifesim games like Newlife and Cursed, with less overall focus on interpersonal relationships than Newlife, but the depth in day-to-day activities, fashion, and careers of Cursed. I plan to put character growth, aesthetics, and fashion on the forefront, with an emphasis of how those personal choices affect the range of job choices, and potential partners and their interests, available.

I'm a new programmer though, and started work on Twine as it's the only development engine with which I have any experience (I started work on a slave sim, kind of the opposite of Slavemaker/Jack-o-Nine-Tails)...but, I've realized Twine with its limitations may not be my best choice. So...does anyone have any suggestions as to what I might try instead?

I've thought about RAGS, but I'm not sure about its internal layout, and not overly fond of its interface -- having to rclick everything, UI elements not being readily apparent, and all. Not to mention, less accessible than Twine or Java, which can be run out of a browser.

dndw

Aug 27, 2015
So...does anyone have any suggestions as to what I might try instead?

I can do better than that.

I started working on a game with an eerily similar premise a while back. Seriously, as I was reading your post, I considered that maybe you'd hacked my computer. Then real life reared its head, leaving little time to work on it. If you'd be interested in working together on something like this, send me a PM and I'll share what I've got so far. It's not an exact duplicate, but very, very similar. It's in Java, by the way.

The Silver Bard

Sep 2, 2015