On the right path?

Xell

Dec 30, 2015
Greetings!

Nobody would ever confuse me for the world's greatest writer.  In my time I have published a short-story or two, but that's about it.  Perusing these forums I've stumbled across many a tale from individuals desiring to create their own stories in the form of a text-based game.  I appear to have caught the same bug and, due to my rather stubborn nature, now find myself in much the same predicament.

Research suggests that flash is inadvisable for such an endeavor.  That it is a dying media and perhaps an html5/javascript combination would be better suited for anyone looking to break into the world of text based creations.  Now I understand there are better tools suited for complete beginners such as myself, and am not looking to make light of the difficulty involved with learning this media.  I'm simply stubborn and know from past experience that I am also a bit of a control freak.  Other tools such as Twine would likely leave me frustrated over the lack of control.

My question to you bastions of text-based game knowledge is simple.  Is html5/javascript the way to go nowadays?

Klaptrap

Aug 27, 2015
I've heard that Twine is simpler and easier, but I don't have anything to back that up. I suppose it depends on how game-heavy you want your game to be.

dndw

Aug 27, 2015
Twine would definitely be best if you have little or no programming experience. Even if you do, Twine probably has enough to suit your needs, or at least to function as a prototyping tool. If you do want more control, you're going to have to do some more programming. For browser-based games, an HTML5/JavaScript framework would indeed be the way to go. CreateJS is a free open-source framework, but it will take some doing to get it working for you. Construct2 is game-oriented and purports to not require you to write your own code. The downside is that it's a commercial product, and the free version is somewhat limited.